TOTO - Official Website - Concert Reviews

TOTO

Milwaukee, WI, USA — 15 November 2006

Well that's all I have to say is WOW ... I don't think that Brent and Bobby from Rhythm Method will ever Forget this Night and having the chance to meet TOTO Backstage left both of them speechless lol .... Right Brent

One of the best concerts Ive ever been to, the sound was great and TOTO RocKed the Crowd from begining to end.

This was the first time Ive seen them and they amazed me, my God, watching Steve Lukather live is amazing, Mike got his bass groove and never let it go, Bobby Kimball sang just heavenly and Simon Phillips got into a karma where percussion reach an amazing level, his drum solo just left me with my mouth open. the solos and rythms were exactly as the records, man the whole band amazed me. I really enjoyed it from begining to the end, I wanted more but time isn't always on time.

A Special Thank You to Michelle for a Night I won't ever forget and for getting all of us friends together for a Concert that we all will Remember for a very long time.You RocK Girl Thank You Again Michelle

It's been really a privilege to have heard TOTO perform the following songs Live, Falling in Between, Pamela, Bottom of your Soul, Hold the line, I'll be over you, Rossanna (with a great jazzy introduction), Kingdom of Desire, I won't hold you back, and Africa...Steve Lukather mentioned they've been around for almost thirty years, I hope they stay around for another 30 years making Great Classic Music like this.

One remarkable concert!


This was Toto at it's best and brightest ever!! November 15th, the final evening of the North American tour in a small club setting, who could hopr for more. I was amazed that Toto came back to the Brew City so soon after the Summer stop at Summerfest in Milwaukee. The band just leaves us all wanting more. I arrived way before show time to check out the stage and saw afew of the band mates just hanging out on stage, an hour before the show...How many bands ever do that. I have never seen the new Keyboard player Greg Phillanges before with the band , but did he ever rock!!!! Playing with Eric Clapton and Stevie Wonder when he was only 19 !!! Amazing, just amazing the way he plays those keyboards, 4 different ones at his offering. The boys in the band were in rare form, extending solos, laughing and just having a great time. Michael Porcaro was recovering from a hand injury and never sounded better. Luke, your solo in Rosanna, just to name afew of your outstanding solos was spectacular. Bobby's voice was flawless and his high vocals were spot on. The sound was great and Mr. Simon Phillips, I am thrilled by the way you set a groove and jam to all of these rockers. The was you keep the time is just amazing. Missed David on the keyboards and vocals but Greg added some funk and grooves that I have never heard Toto sound funkier and tighter. I hope your tour continues successfully and you keep on rocking!!!! The Shaft bit with Greg and the band introductions were so cool. These guys love playing and each other and it is genuine and real love that they have for the fans and themselves. Rock on Toto!!!

Michael Ackerman / Life long Toto fan

Set List
Falling in Between
King of the World
Pamela
Bottom of your Soul
Caught in the Balance
Make Believe ( Killer version )
Hold The Line ( Best ever !!! )
I Can't Stop Lovin you
I'll Be Over You ( Luke this is my wifes favorite tune...thanks for your killer vocals) Cruel
Rosanna ( Luke your solo was spectacular)
I Won't Hold You Back ( another favorite song)
Girl GoodBye ( Bobby you brought the house down with your unbelievable vocals )
Encore
Africa

Was so cool the way each band member one by one exited the stage.
The best night of my life ( besides my wedding night Jenny )


Luke

Chicago, IL, USA — 14 November 2006

Where to start!! What a night at the House of Blues!!!

I traveled from Boston to be there as it was my birthday, and how often do you get a TOTO concert on your birthday!
I had dinner with some friends pre show, where I was treated to a rather interesting "Happy Birthday" sung to me Cajun style by a waitress. I knew from this point on the night was going to be fun. I then got into sound check to see the guys warming up. Luke greeted us warmly after they were finished, and then off we went to find our places in the auditorium. I got a great vantage point in front of Luke and Mike. As it was a standing room only venue (great for groovin') there wasn't a bad spot in the house really.

The show opened in dramatic style, with a thundering "Falling in Between" ... Bobby hitting that high wail right on target. Without missing a beat (pardon the pun) they then ripped into "King of the world". Everyone was grooving along to every note, and the boys played every song as if their lives depended on it. You couldn't ask for more energy from a band. They gave each and every tune EVERYTHING they had and then some more.

Especially appreciated by me were some of the older numbers that usually get left out of shorter set lists. Tonight's show was the "whole nine yards" so we got a full set. I have been to two other shows this year (Vegas and NYC) where there were time constraints but not tonight.

Right after the acoustic set, one of my friends who was in a balcony seat dropped a note to Bobby reminding him it was my birthday. I didn't see that part but what happened next was something out of my dreams. Luke gets the piece of paper and announces that it is in fact my birthday and I was serenaded by about 700 plus people backed by TOTO! I think Luke started the singing then Greg found the keys and off they went. I was undecided between laughing and crying at the same time. He then dedicated "I won't hold you back" to me for my big day.

Well, you'd think it couldn't get any better than that...but indeed it did.

Luke knows from my attendance at other gigs that I really like the tune "The Pump"..well I got almost ten minutes of it with him playing right in front of me.

After that I was in a bit of a daze. The rest of the show was fantastic, but details are a bit hazy. I can never remember set lists. I am too busy enjoying one of the best live bands ever.

I had a wonderful time after the show , getting my picture with Greg, and then with Luke, who gave me a hug for my birthday. Simon was very gracious to take time to speak to me, and I had a wonderful conversation with Mike and his wife Cheryl. I was truly blessed to share my birthday with these wonderful people, and I thank them all from the bottom of my heart (and soul). You truly made an old broad's dreams come true on her birthday and I will never ever forget it.

Greg

St. Petersburg, FL, USA — 12 November 2006

As each year passes, TOTO always surprises the audiences at venues with an ever-changing and "inspired " setlist. They are Masters of their instruments, yet at the same time, down-to-earth and personable. There is no arrogance or pretention with these LEGENDS and THAT is why people will eagerly attend their shows all over the world.....again and again.

On to the review>>>>>> The tape rolled for the intro to "Falling In Between", creating a moment of suspense and mystery before the lights came in full glare with Simon's and Luke's opening riff. Bobby hit the high notes on the first line from the first verse and the crowd went WILD!! According to Bobby, there was no time for a soundcheck, YET the band gave a very tight and well-orchestrated performance from beginning to end.They performed the same setlist from their international tour, except for the MEDLEY was left out. According to Luke afterwards, it was because of time restriction from the venue. The highlight of the evening was hearing "Caught in the Balance" again after so many years....that song does so well LIVE! Another highlight was the closing of "Africa". One by one, the band members left off at a certain point in the closing instrumental of the song with Simon being the one to have the last chop with a swift and powerful strike on his snare drum. LIGHTS FADE to !
black...lights come on again in less than a minute...and the band make their way to the front of the stage to bow for the audience.

Many thanks to Martin Cole (who was absent but present in spirit), Sonny Abelardo, Astro, Bob Bradshaw and Juan for your kindness and assistance before and after the show. My heartfelt gratitude to the BOYZ in the band for your "way,way out there" humor, humanity and sensibilities. You guys are a groove both ON and OFF the stage!


Sadly, I haven't been able to see the band live since the Kingdom of Desire tour. I was excited to be able to see the band after all these years. There was a built in crowd since this was an annual outdoor festival, although, many probably didn't have a clue about the music that was about to hit them!

The band came out and cranked out Falling in Between. Many die hard fans in front of the stage were excited to hear and see the band. The sound was great. High spots, in my opinion, were Pamela, Make Believe, and Mr. Spinner doing Stop Loving You! Luke described it as the "old stuff done a new way". It was beautiful! Luke mentioned that Mike had a bad hand, but he sure played great!

I missed the band 2 nights earlier in Ft Pierce. I understand this might have been a shorter set list, but it was still excellent none the less. They have so many tunes to select from, and I don't feel you can go wrong with any tune. After the show, my wife and I were lucky enough to meet Bobby and Simon. Even though I am sure they had things to do, both stopped to chat and allow a picture or two. Thanks so much. I know the crowds in the states are not always what the band hopes for, but they had a large one in St Pete and probably won over quite a few of them.

I can't wait to see the band again!


Once again, another outstanding performance. Not sure what to say, went from having never seen them live to seeing them three times in less than three months.

This show was part of a festival event at the beautiful Vinoy Park on Tampa Bay. The weather was beautiful & cool. The crowd was staggering, I now know what it must be like to attend a Toto show overseas. There were large video screens around the park for viewing from multi-camera angles. Several people that attended Friday's show in Ft Pierce made the trip to St Pete today. We were all gathered right along the barricade at the front of the stage. A lot of other people showed up for Toto, then there were even more that didn't know they were still touring & it was cool to bring them "up to date". One woman shared original pictures she took when Paich & Porcaro were with the Sonny & Cher Show. I'd never seen them before, they are priceless. I hope she can get them to the right people as security wouldn't give them to anyone.

The show was abbreviated most likely for time constraints as this was the last day of the festival in a residential area on a Sunday night. The "medley" and all of the solos were omitted. Luke kept the show moving right along with no delays, but there was an interesting twist during the band intros. When it came time to introduce Greg, Luke slipped into his Michael Jackson persona & as he did, an elderly fellow walked out on stage waving to everyone & Luke turned around to see him just in time to announce, "Ladies & gentlemen, MR. GREG PHILLINGANES!!" The audience roared! Luke gathered himself from his own laughter & said, "No, seriously, this is MR GREG PHILLINGANES!!!", raising the gentleman's hands into the air. Greg was beside himself behind the keyboards, everyone was howling. Luke then told us this was actually "Mr. Bradshaw" & the REAL Greg Phillinganes stood up. Not sure how much set up went into that, but it was worth it.

Another highlight of the show was during the first line of "Cruel" as Bobby propped himself right at the edge of the stage, staring down at the stone-faced security guy beneath him. Don't think the guy was aware of the joke, but we all enjoyed it.

Throughout the show, members of Family Stone Experience (founding members of Sly & The Family Stone) could be seen off to the side of the stage enjoying the moment. They had played onstage before Toto came out. It was an amazing experience to see so much talent in one day. THANK YOU AGAIN TOTO for playing in Florida. Hopefully we won't have to wait another 25 years (as Luke put it).


Like many others in Florida, we had to travel elsewhere to see TOTO play live until 2006. Greg went up to the stage while The Family Stone Experience played their last songs, and he was really into it! Bobby and Simon watched and prepared for their own show, which was a shortened version of the Ft. Pierce show (no medley). Most locals had no knowledge of what was of TOTO since they took home the Grammys two decades ago, but they came for the Classics and welcomed the new sounds of Falling In Between. I almost feel guilty to say that I drove less than 10 miles from home to see TOTO this time (my 5th time since 1988), but bringing my wife and 6-yr. old son along for their 2nd time was the best reward. Thanks for coming to Tampa Bay Area; you are more than welcome to return.


Fort Pierce, FL, USA — 10 November 2006

I owe my brother big time - he alerted me to the fact that Toto were doing a concert on Friday - I drove 7 hours (and would drive another 7) to see them - it was worth every mile! I re-discovered Toto after getting the Amsterdam DVD - was blown away by that and couldn't wait to see them Live - after all Bill told me it was the best concert he has seen ( he saw them in Sydney) and I TOTOally agree. Thanks guys for a wonderful show - and the new Album is the best I have heard in so long, if you don't have the latest CD get it and youll enjoy the concert even more.
Cheers


Hey guys you'll sound so so solid it's incredible, luke your technique and sound are above the rest, this was my very first toto concert i've been waiting a life time to see you guys, i'm not from the states, i'm from south america venezuela and we've been waiting for you over there. It's so nice to see the how tight you'll are, and well i wanna thank you for coming here and making that such a great night


London,Paris,Rome,Tokyo,Sydney&FtPierce-thats what I call a playlist.David Jenkins perseverence brought the Worlds Best Band to this fabulous venue.Judging by the look on Lukes face after the opener,FIB,Ft Pierces response came as a suprise.TOTO deserve no less.Ft Pierce then got the world class treatment that us Europeans have been receiving for 29 years!As 30 years beckon what can we expect in 07?.Ive heard a rumour that Gregs putting the final touches to "Spiritual Man"and Bobbys limbering up for"The Mission".Im sure El Groupos Luke is tempted to do a little "Birdland".Simon is organising the TOTO 30 Tee shirts(xl in blue plse Simon). Roll on 2007!


This was my second time seeing Toto this year & they rocked just as hard, if not better. Credit goes to Sunrise Theater Exec Director David Jenkins for bringing the band to this part of the world, which I cannot remember them playing in since the '80's. He really made it a personal mission to bring the live Toto experience to FL after seeing their "Live In Amsterdam" DVD.

Credit for great seats to the show can be given to toto99.com for putting the date up almost a month before tickets went on sale. I was able to correspond with the box office well in advance & scored FRONT ROW the day they went onsale. Having seen them in LA a couple months ago, I knew just where to be & was able to select seats right between Luke & Bobby's mike stands. Bobby's energetic style of performing often had him within a couple inches of us. Lots of eye contact & smiles with Bobby & Luke, it was awesome.

The venue appeared to be sold out, as they were selling SRO tickets. The crowd was completely out of their minds & having the best time in the world. Luke was often speaking above the screaming. There was a young boy sitting next to me that was playing air guitar throughout the show & definitely caught the attention of all the band members. At one point, Bobby handed the boy his mike, which everyone loved.

The set list:

Falling In Between
King Of The World (Greg Phllinganes on vox)
Pamela (Bobby Kimball on vox)
Bottom Of Your Soul
Caught In The Balance
Make Believe
Hold The Line
Stop Loving You (Tony Spinner on vox)
I'll Be Over You (complete with intro)
Cruel
Greg's keyboard solo (Georgy Porgy/I'll Supply The Love)
Rosanna

Medley: (about 2 1/2 minutes of each tune)
Endless (Kimball on vox)
Isolation (Kimball on vox)
Gift Of Faith
Kingdom Of Desire (Luke's blistering solo)
Hydra (Simon's thundering solo)
Taint Your World

Band Intros
I Won't Hold You Back
Girl Goodbye
Africa

Big highlight of the show was Luke introducing the band as Sammy Davis Jr. He told us of his interest in collecting Sammy & showed off a couple of Sammy's chains he was wearing & said he'd borrowed them from Heartbreakers drummer Stan Lynch...whom he brought out onstage to a standing ovation. Luke also dipped back into his Michael Jackson impersonation when introducing Greg, who came down from behind the keys to get Luke after that.

The absolute highlight was meeting the entire band afterwards. One by one, as they exited the theater, they spent as much time with us as they could. Greg came out first, I was pleased to share with him how much I loved his "Behind The Mask" single. Mike was next, he was so flattered that we hung around after the show. Bobby made everyone's day & spent a lot of time with us, posing for pix & chatting about everything under the sun (he even brought out his own Sharpie to autograph with). Simon followed, all the girls loved his accent. Tony came out the dock & was all ready to hop over the railing to us when the stage manager told him they were walking down that way anyway! Then, here comes LUKE!!!! The "show" with him in the parking lot was worth the trip from Orlando to see the concert itself. And boy, was it a TRIP! (Luke, I hope you got your cell phone to work finally!)

The funny thing is, I finally flew to LA to see them in September & now here they are playing within two hours either way of my home town this weekend. Gotta love it!

THANK YOU TOTO for coming to the Sunshine State & making 1200+ of us so happy. Your generosity after the show made it so much more incredible & once again proves why you are the best in the business.


Guatemala City, Guatemala — 18 October 2006

I was one of the musicians that rised his hands when Mr. Lukather asked...any musicians in the house?... believe me there were plenty of us musicians in there...I crossed my fingers and hoped for daves gone skiing... maybe next time.
please guys....come back again.
in this small country of ours the TOTO concert had no parallel, absolutly awesome on all levels.
Im practicaly begging here....pleeease come back soon.....I left the place with a big smile on my face, adrenaline over the roof top, and Mr. lukather guitar pick!....all I can ask is....lets do this all over again soon!!!!


One of the best concerts Ive ever been to, the sound was great and the band played great too.
This was the first time Ive seen them and they amazed me, my God, watching Steve Lukather played live is amazing, Mike got groove and never let it go, the Rev Kimball sang just heavenly and the Simon Phillips got into a karma where percussion reach an amazing level, his drum solo just leave me with my mouth open. Greg who I didn knew he was on tour with them, played great, the solos and rythms were exactly as the records, man the whole band amazed me. I really enjoy it from begining to the end, I wanted more but time isn't always on time.
I hope the come again on the near future coz they have a small debt to us, they didn't played 99 and Hydra was just an intro to Simons drum solo.
Well Im really grateful because they have the time to come and play for us.
Thanx TOTO and I wish you the best.


"I Bless the Rains down in Africa"

Yeah!! the words of the song that I wait many many years to hear in a live performance of one of the best bands.

I can't find the words to say thanks for comming to my country this concert was... a piece of art of Music, Sound, the cheers of the people, lights, everything.

The song intros, the medley the chorus... wow

I hope that someday this band come to my country again.

"There's nothing that a houndred bands or more could ever do like TOTO Do"

Thanks
ORC"


Chihuahua, Mexico — 15 October 2006

As always... AMAZING. The best band with the best music, gave us an unforgettable performance of abilities and excellent musical taste. A 45,000 crowd, singing and jumping, even though the weather was cold. Simply the best concert ive been to. Greg Phillinganes showed why he is filling Daves shoes, Steve electrocuted us with his bionic hands, Simon stopped our hearts with his drums (with little technical drum microphone problem), Tony showed the benefits of being part of Toto, Bobby sang great, even though his microphone had a couple of failures, and Mike, as a proffesional, played with an injury, that no one noticed! Congratulations, really, for beeing the best band alive and kicking.


Monterrey, Mexico — 14 October 2006

WOW!!!

I was blown away by Toto's concert in Monterrey. My brother and I traveled from San Luis Potosi to Monterrey, got a seat on the first row and had the best concert experience in years. It's been really a privilege to have heard TOTO perform the following songs, among others: Two wonderful songs from Falling in Between, Pamela, Bottom of your Soul, Hold the line, I'll be over you, Rossanna (with a great jazzy introduction), Kingdom of Desire, I won't hold you back, Africa...Steve Lukather mentioned they've been around for almost thirty years. The Luis Elizondo Theatre was at its full capacity -probably around 1,800 people inside - the concert became an escalation of emotions as it was raining outside. There were expressions of deep love and admiration to the band. People with black shirts on, ready to enjoy a hectic, warm, interactive, balanced, and remarkable concert! We were holding up a placard that said Toto, a would-be replica of a previous Toto release, which I love! It was all fun, guys standing up, singing during the whole concert. People letting out loud 'Woo Hoos' when lights were on and off...Luke said a local newspaper didn't match their names with their pictures. Tony Spinner's arrival picture had Bobby Kimball's name instead...we all laughed. Yeeahh...one lady holding a message 'I love U Luke", who also teased Greg Phillinganes a bit...Toto was having a lot of fun at stage, but they never lost focus. Steve dedicated 'I won't hold you back' to all Mexican girls, and replied "I'm spaced out" right after people from the audience asked for the song 'Africa'. What we didn't know was that Toto would wrap the concert up with that song...beautifully. Group members were very kind in shaking their fans' hands throughout the show. Guitar picks were thrown on the stage floor by master guitarist Steve Lukather, and some folks tried to get at least one of them as soon as the concert ended. Simon Phillips' stamina and talent were amazing!!! His solo was such a delight to watch and listen to! A guy wrote a message 'We Miss you Jeff', to which Mike Porcaro said 'I miss you too'. Bobby Kimball was great, as Greg and Tony Spinner were too! As I headed back to SLP, I wondered how many Toto fans experience mixed feelings in the end-a little bit of nostalgia and a great deal of joy for being there, listening to these master musicians! Monterrey woke up next day saying "The concert came off a paragon!" God Bless you all.


WOW!!!

I was blown away by Toto's concert in Monterrey. My brother and I traveled from San Luis Potosi to Monterrey, got a seat on the first row and had the best concert experience in years. It's been really a privilege to have heard TOTO perform the following songs, among others: Two wonderful songs from Falling in Between, Pamela, Bottom of your Soul, Hold the line, I'll be over you, Rossanna (with a great jazzy introduction), Kingdom of Desire, I won't hold you back, Africa...Steve Lukather mentioned they've been around for almost thirty years. The Luis Elizondo Theatre was at its full capacity -probably around 1,800 people inside - the concert became an escalation of emotions as it was raining outside. There were expressions of deep love and admiration to the band. People with black shirts on, ready to enjoy a hectic, warm, interactive, balanced, and remarkable concert! We were holding up a placard that said Toto, a would-be replica of a previous Toto release, which I love! It was all fun, guys standing up, singing during the whole concert. People letting out loud 'Woo Hoos' when lights were on and off...Luke said a local newspaper didn't match their names with their pictures. Tony Spinner's arrival picture had Bobby Kimball's name instead...we all laughed. Yeeahh...one lady holding a message 'I love U Luke", who also teased Greg Phillinganes a bit...Toto was having a lot of fun at stage, but they never lost focus. Steve dedicated 'I won't hold you back' to all Mexican girls, and replied "I'm spaced out" right after people from the audience asked for the song 'Africa'. What we didn't know was that Toto would wrap the concert up with that song...beautifully. Group members were very kind in shaking their fans' hands throughout the show. Guitar picks were thrown on the stage floor by master guitarist Steve Lukather, and some folks tried to get at least one of them as soon as the concert ended. Simon Phillips' stamina and talent were amazing!!! His solo was such a delight to watch and listen to! A guy wrote a message 'We Miss you Jeff', to which Mike Porcaro said 'I miss you too'. Bobby Kimball was great, as Greg and Tony Spinner were too! As I headed back to SLP, I wondered how many Toto fans experience mixed feelings in the end-a little bit of nostalgia and a great deal of joy for being there, listening to these master musicians! Monterrey woke up next day saying "The concert came off a paragon!" God Bless you all.


WOW!!!

What can i tell you, an excellent concert, for me some important songs missed, but is impossible to sing all, you could still be playing and not finished yet. Maybe it could go little bit out of pattern of other concerts played last month, but you guys ROCK!!! all playing extremely well, Mike injured did not do a solo, but Greg, Luke and Simon fill out all expectations. I had lucky to go back stage at the end and get my handkerchief signed by Luke, also got a picture with him, i went with my daughter Fernanda and my two best pals Gino and Oscar, Gino saw Toto at Louisiana when it was Isolation Tour, Oscar is a really good drummer and was speechless after seeing Simon performance. As Luke told, it was a concer for musicians and those who appreciate good music and much better performance. Next time you came again you should take more time to enjoy a longer performance, maybe for 30th anniversary WORLD Tour, i hope David Paich could be playing also. I promise i'll go to see you!
here or in Texas. Thanks again for a night to remember and My best wishes for all you and your families.

Keep it going, i do not fill yet with all your music, i will need it forever.

THANKS

Sincerely


Ive been a TOTO fan for many years now. Last time I saw them live was in New Orleans 21 years ago (Isolation Tour). The concert here in Monterrey was EXCELLENT as expected. The set list was the same as in Los Angeles a month ago. The band intros were great, Luke had very nice things to say about everyone in the band and because of this, the crowd couldnt stop laughing! Then it was time for Mike to return the favor by introducing Luke as "the man who gives you more queso for your peso!"Brilliant! Bobby and Luke spoke a few words in spanish during the concert, with excellent pronunciation. Mike got a nice ovation, playing injured with a bandage in one of his hands.
My 2 friends and I know one of the promoters so we had the chance to go backstage after the show for a couple of minutes. Luke surprised us, and some other folks who were there that had won a radio contest, by greeting everyone with a handshake and thanking everyone for going to the show... The star making us feel as THE stars! What a novel concept!!.. When someone asked for a photo with him, he said "Im not that cool!", cracking everyone up. He gladly posed for pictures, with a big smile on his face, chatted a little bit, signed for everyone and left after saying goodbye. I was really surprised by this, by how down to earth Luke is... thanks Luke and thanks TOTO for this EXCELLENT event, and also for making us feel not like fans but like friends. Come back often to Monterrey and to Mexico.
Mi casa es su casa, amigos.


Mexico City, Mexico — 12 October 2006

What a night! after five hours of road to get to Mexico City from San Luis Potosi (where i am from), everything was ready to enjoy an unforgettable concert.
The Metropolitan Theatre was completely full and the crowd were anxious to listen to the MASTERS OF MUSIC: TOTO!! It began at 9:15 pm, when we can listen to the first chords of "Falling in between". It last for 2 hours and the set list was almost the same as in Los Angeles. Great new intros for classic songs and amazing performance of the new songs: F.I.B.; King of the world; bottom of your soul.
Tony Spinner was great singing Stop loving you and following Steve's leading guitar; Greg is fantastic (is great to have you in the band!); Bobby sang amazing the classics and the isolation's songs (endless, isolation); Mike played with such an artistry, that his pain was almost undetectable, THANK YOU MIKE!; Simon was always with the perfect timing at the drums, showing his master skills to play (the best drummer!; STEVE LUKATHER, the Guitar God, was outstanding and amazing! It was great to hear him sing gift of faith, kingdom of desire, won't hold you back, etc... excellent voice and a prodigious guitar player, simply THE BEST MUSICIAN EVER!!!! Thank you for a great night, and i hope you can come again to Mexico soon,

GRACIAS AMIGOS Y MAESTROS!!!!


There's no cuestion about it TOTO is the best rock band ever, this is my first time that I go to a concert and I'm very satisfied and lucky because it was TOTO. Totally perfect, all the colors of the guitars of Mr. Luke and all the solo parts, that was amazing how Mr. Lukather expresses every emotion with the guitar, it was WOW !, the fabulous voice of Mr. Kimball, Mr Simon that is an excellent drummer, Mr. Spinner that he sang "I can't stop loving you" he's very talented with the voice too I like it a lot, also Mr.Greg and Mr. Porcaro thas was amazing too. I was on the front of the theatre, I have all the TOTO members very close that I can see the fever on the stage.. Thanks TOTO I hope you com back soon to mexico..!! TOTO ROCKSSSS...!!!!


Excellent is the one and only that comes to mind at the end of the performance , TOTO still gets that spirit flowin in the band. I'm thankful by the first I heard song like "Endless" and "Isolation" (even though "Stranger in town" missing) such "Caught in the balance" each and every song was a delight for my senses. My seat in the 3rd row gave a parfect sight of the stage, and almost the completly night I spent my time in front Luke, he is a master, sometimes Bobby took the same position. Falling in beetwen was a perfect opener , the only bad spot on it , not all the audience knew the lyrics from the new album. But thanks once again, I'll be expecting the new album, or at least the next time they touch Mexico City. I missed David on the keyboards, I hope he comes in the next time. Thanks for this night to remember


Los Angeles, USA — 9 September 2006

I counted them, this is my 6th Toto show, over 20th seeing Luke. Band is as exciting as ever, and Greg and Spinner are great additions. Loved the play list, so awesome to see some songs from when they didn't tour heavily in US, especially 'Gift of Faith' and 'Kingdom'. I think I may have to fly down to Mexico.

But the sound SUCKED!! Heard many people saying the same thing. The best band in the world, and the sound was third rate. Muddy, couldn't hear middle and upper ranges, piano and vocals couldn't be heard. I know the venue is tough for sound, mixer under the balcony and I was in the pit.

Still the best band ever. Jeff P will always be the master, but Simon is the most masterful drummer I've ever seen. Hope to see you in Mexico.


What can I say that hasn't already been said? This was one awesome concert. Having missed Toto's 2003 gig at House Of Blues in Anaheim, I was NOT going to miss this homecoming. I flew from Orlando specifically for this show.

It was an honour & a privilage, to see Toto live for the first time. While there isn't any song I wouldn't want to hear live, it's great to have new material in the show. Greg Phillinganes compliments the band perfectly & it's easy to see why he was chosen to fill Paich's shoes. I have always loved his solo single "Behind The Mask" from 1985, which was reworked with Michael Jackson...only fitting that Luke made mention of their "Thriller" ties during the band intros. I will never forget how Luke, in the voice of Michael, introducted Greg. Luke said something to the effect of Greg being "bad" & Greg played a few notes of "Beat It" to which Luke (as Michael) replied "wrong song" :-)

It was also funny to hear Luke tell us how particular Bobby is about his koi gardern...not so sure it'd be appropriate to relive his onstage antics with the fish in this forum :-) Luke also made his feelings for Paris Hilton having the #1 song of the week well-known & he has every right to feel as dismayed as the rest of us.

Hopefully someone saved Mike's intro for Luke. It had everyone almost in tears.

Hearing a couple tracks from Isolation with Bobby on vocals was beyond a thrill. Maybe someday those tapes can be remastered & we can hear the whole album as it should have been.

Was hoping that David Paich, Steve Porcaro & even Joseph Williams might appear, but it didn't happen. Luke did indicate that both Paich & Porcaro were there laughing at them :-) It was very much a family affair at the Wiltern & you could tell how much fun the band was having.

THANK YOU for such an awesome show & I hope I can see you again soon. I didn't have the opportunity to express my gratitude in person & hope I can do so next time.


"Truly amazing...I didn't know they played that..For a bunch of old guys, they rock!"

Those were some of the statements I remember hearing as I left the Wiltern theatre that night, with the satisfaction that yet another memorable show by the boys was enjoyed by all. The week previously, I attended the show in my hometown of Las Vegas. I knew that due to the Las Vegas "casino curfew"...and of no fault to the boys, a 90 minute show would be maximum. And even though the show was great, I had to see them play in their hometown to truly experience what our fellow European fans have been able to luckily witness. Ultimately, being in the "pit" at the Wiltern was the bonus, literally within arm's length of the boys playing, singing and having a wild time! "Bubba's" vocals were crisp, Greg's playing wicked, Mike's bassline DEEP, Simon's arms wailing like a mad octopus, and Luke..no words can describe him. Watching him jam with his son Trevor on stage was inspiring...could we be watching a future superstar in the works? Other highlights for the hard core fans was a missed key by Greg during "Rosanna", and Luke laughing at Greg while trying to show him the right key to play! Playing songs like "Kingdom Of Desire", Gift Of Faith", even a few tracks from the underrated Isolation album..Also mentioning how great it was to play at home in front of nearly 300 family & personal friends of the band, it was obvious that the band was playing at a special kind of home reunion show. My only disappointment was that Paich was there, but unfortunately not on stage. I was really hoping for maybe a Joe Williams guest vocal on "Bottom Of Your Soul", but alas it wasn't to be. However I have no complaints. As I left the venue, on my 4 hour drive into the night back home to Vegas, only one song came to mind..."The Road Goes On"....


Mike

WOW!!! The first time I've seen TOTO Live. They rocked the house with their new and classic songs. Luke brought out son Trevor who is every bit the axe master and showman. It was clearly the most moving moment at any concert I've ever been to, to see father and son jamming together and having a blast. Simon attacked his solo.. Greg was awesome, but I longed for Dave to make a cameo. MVP goes to Mike Porcaro. I spoke with him after the concert, and he was clearly in a great deal of discomfort. He played seated for maybe one song. The groovemeister never missed a note. Other than being a one band fan, I went especially to watch Mike play live. The bassist who inspired me to play. After 6 spine operations myself, I can relate to how he felt. Perfect performance, and he was literally pale after the show. That is mind blowing dedication. Before meeting Mike, I was honored to meet Papa Joe and Eileen. What a cool guy, a complete gentleman and role model for fathers. I spoke with Dave who said his sister's prognosis is great, and she's next in line for her life saving surgery. It was a pleasure to meet Dave's wife also, she expressed gratitude for all of the prayers for Dave's sister. I met one of Jeff's sons, and for the life of me, the excitement caused me to forget, but I think it was Chris. He's the absolute spitting image of his Dad. All in all, the best night of my life, I was completely moved by the show, and awed by the flawless performance. This evening made extra special by the graciousness of the Porcaro family and Dave Paich. The band will continue to be the epitomy of class, as well as musical execution. Absolutely the best night of my life. Now to clear my schedule for a trip to Mexico??


Wow....last night's show at The Wiltern was one of my absolute favorites! We were right up against the stage, in the pit level, between Luke and Mike. The energy level on the EQ was a 10, from the opening number to the finale... at least it was for me! The set list, as mentioned on a previous review, was right on. I was thrilled to hear Toto perform Kingdom of Desire, which happens to be a wicked tune and one that I really love. Of course, they did an excellent job on that! At one moment during the evening I saw Dave behind the curtain, taking in the show from the side of the stage directly behind Greg. He was really getting into the groove that was being laid down by the boys. Though, I really thought he would have joined in for a bit. Maybe next time. There was a real nice jazzy intro to Rosanna, which I thought was a clever departure from this classic Toto tune. I know that the band was road weary by now, but in professional fashion, with their focus and attention to detail in their heartfelt craft, they delivered the goods, big time! I love you guys!!!


Wow, what a show. I'm 39 and saw my first TOTO concert when I was a teenager in my hometown of Santa Barbara just after they released IV. I took my 9 year old daughter to this one (it turns out she is a huge TOTO fan....I didn't realize this until my Fahrenheit and Amsterdam CD's went missing for a month and I found them in her room - now I have to hide my TOTO discs from her or she'll get them). The show started about 8:30 and ended at about 10:30. Not one bad seat in the house. We were upper level center.....PERFECT VIEW. What a tight group, every change in sync and the acoustics were fantastic. Started with Falling In Between (what a powerful way to start the show, they established themselves immediately). I loved Pamela, Bottom Of Your Soul, Cruel...YES!!, Caught In The Balance, I'll Be Over You...and the list goes on and on. Tony was playing with a hurt foot (wearing socks - they should let him sing more on his own, he has an incredible voice) and! poor Mike had a messed up neck and back (according to Luke) but you couldn't tell.....he just jammed away. Greg's solo was awesome with a hints of Georgy Porgy and I'll Supply The Love sprinkled in for good measure. Simon's solo was KILLER (while Luke, Greg, and Mike played that 4 note Hydra riff throughout.....how those three kept that timing that tight through a drum solo...I still haven't figured out). Highlights included a guest appearance from Luke's son, Trevor (on guitar), who jammed Hold The Line with the band. PAICH WAS THERE, but only in the audience (Luke gave him an honorable mention). But I especially liked how they ended the show.....their final and only encore song was Africa (Luke's son Trevor again came out). As they were finishing the song with an instrumental jam, Bobby waved then walked off stage, then Tony put his guitar down, waved and walked off stage, then Mike waved and left, then Luke gave a big wave and walked off stage. Now it was just Greg ! and Simon jamming for about 20 seconds. Then Greg stopped playing, waved and left. Just Simon now....down to the final beat.....lights out....fade to black........AWESOME!!!!


In a word "WOW". This 3,000 seat theater was the host of an amazing night that welcomed Toto home, and reminded them that a large and enthusiastic fan base is alive and well and living in the U.S. From the stage, Luke said "It's great to be home after six months on the road" and the boys delivered an incredible 110 minute set that spanned their almost 30 years together and left the capacity crowd in a frenzy.

Having seen the Las Vegas show last week, it was so great to get the full set that everyone has been enjoying outside of the United States. This blazing set consisted of the following:
Falling In Between
King Of The World
Pamela
Bottom Of Your Soul
Caught In The Balance
Make Believe
Hold The Line (with Trevor Lukather sitting in)
Stop Loving You
I'll Be Over You
Cruel
Greg's keyboard solo
Rosanna (nice intro!)
Medley
  Endless
  Isolation
  Gift Of Faith
  Kingdom Of Desire (Luke's solo..jaw dropping!)
  Hydra (Simon's solo..none better!)
  Taint Your World
Band Intros (always fun to hear)
Won't Hold You Back
Girl Goodbye
Africa (with Trevor again)

Anyone reading this review has probably had the privilege of seeing at least one of Toto's live shows. If not, YOU MUST! I have attended almost 100 shows in the past 28 years and I can truly say that time has only made these amazing guys better. There is no need to acknowledge each of their talents because individually and collectively they are the best there is.

It is necessary to mention that not only is the music a reason to see this band, but also because of the "family" feeling that the band and the audience creates. As mentioned in previous reviews, Toto is ALWAYS accessible to the fans and are always very humble when given a well-deserved compliment. They can always be found signing autographs, taking photos or just talking music with anyone who asks. Class from top to bottom.

Thanks, guys, for another night of great music. You never cease to amaze all of us. Welcome home.


Luke

Las Vegas, USA — 1 September 2006

Wow! I have been to a few Toto concerts and I cant remember them ever sounding as good as they did this time around. I loved hearing the songs off the new CD and the older songs as well. My only wish was that they would have played longer, after an hour and a half I think the fans were just getting warmed up.
You guys are the best; I hope you have some more dates in the US soon like Portland Oregon (hint, hint)
Guys keep doing what you do, and we all hope Dave can join you guys again soon.

Thanks for the AWESOME SHOW!


Twelve of us flew in to Vegas from Austin, Texas for our first experience seeing Toto perform in person. The concert was Great!!! My favorite song--make that songs: Rosanna--complete with a new version intro, Caught in the Balance, Goodbye Girl--OK, the whole set was amazing. (Only downside is that we wish they had played longer, but I understand that Toto's concert length was determined by the venue and not by Toto). After the show we had the priviledge of meeting the band. My children--who are in their early 20's are big Toto fans and both Luke and Bobby stated that they were amazed that they have young fans in the USA. I was impressed by two things: Toto is a tight, musical, expressive, well-conceived, powerhouse, masterful band. Toto is also humble, approachable, friendly and accessible to their fans. This makes Toto a great band! Thanks guys.


We came from Sacramento to see TOTO for the first time. There is no guitar anywhere that can match Luke and he proved that again. Tony's guitar is a perfect compliment while remaining outstanding. Simon and Mike played with such combined persision and joy - who said they weren't feeling well? And what a talented keyboardist Greg is. What will ever happen if he gets loose? What more can be said about Bobby Kimball? He's just plain heart and soul singing out there. Surely all of the vocal blends make TOTO. We loved the way TOTO did "GIRL GOODBYE". TOTO, oh TOTO please add a Reno or Tahoe show before you leave for Mexico! Lin & Mike in Sacramento (and many friends here who love you).


Sandy, USA — 31 August 2006

Well all I can say is it was worth the 500 mile trip to see the best band on the planet. We came from Bend, Oregon to see our Musical Hero's and They did not disapoint.The Venue was small but packed and the night was Great! The Band Steve was amazing and even though Simon was sick he still gave his all. I loved that you guys did pamela, caught in the balance, Tony spinner you got it going on dude. Thanks for not canceling as we had come a ways to see you and Most band's would have not Played if theit drummer had had the flu, but Toto did Not Back down! Greg Nice Keyboard solo. Mike you are the Groovin Gentleman.
Bobby a True Inspiration. Luke there is no one who can touch you on Guitar. and I thought it was great that you asked" How many Musicians are here tonight" Simon I don't know how you made it thru But man if Steve had not told us all about you having the flu none would have known. So Thank you All from the Bottom Of Our Souls
P.S. Please Book some shows in The Northwest USA for 2007. as we Must see you again soon. God Bless


Last night's gig in Sandy was an awesome show. Steve was funny and very cool. The whole band was outstanding. "Falling in Between" is a masterpiece! Thanks for taking the time to make it great! We missed David Paich last night (and also some of the songs from the set list - including a solo from Simon) but we know that Simon was ill. No problem. We'll catch it next time. Thanks for coming to Utah!!!


It was great to see ToTo in Utah again. I saw them at the State Fair durring the Mindfields tour. I must say you guys rock. You guys must really love your fans and what you do. To play with the flu (Simon) and a messed up neck (Mike). All I can say is thanks for suck'n it up and delivering a great performance. Alot of other bands would have called it quits, but you showed what true loyalty is all about. I know the show was shorter and it would have been cool to see the whole thing but the fact that you even came out to play just tells me how much you love us fans and I thank you. The show was packed and I believe that the US is ready again to hear you guys, I hope. Well God bless you all and I pray that Simon and Mike get well soon. Thanks for the wonderful memory Guys. Come back Soon!!!


Last night I saw Toto for the first time since the Kingdom of Desire tour. All I can say is it had been way too long not to see this incredible band. From the opening of "Falling In Between" to the encore of "Africa" Toto proved once that they are simply one of the greatest bands in the world. Simon was sick and Mike was injured but you would have never known. Bobby was signature Bobby. Greg knocked out a solo that electrified the crowd. And Luke....what can I say about Luke that hasn't already been said? The jokes, the playing...my god, the playing...Nobody should have this much talent... Thanks for coming to Utah guys. It was incredible.


Last night's concert was the highlight of the musical year. Amazing performances by the whole group. Luke is a legend to behold. Especially loved the new re-rendering of "Rosanna". Greg is a tremendous addition on keys & loved his energy! The band was especially gracious to those who patiently waited to say "hi". Toto, we hoped we proved there are still fans in the U.S. that know what a real rock band is & we hope you'll come back next year on your 30th anniversary tour. The only disappointment was that the set was less than 90 min. God Bless.


WOW! I loved it!
My son (a music major at the University of Utah) and I were there. He made the comment about how "Tight" you harmonize. The keyboards, guitars, drums, vocals, all of you were (are) out of this world. Seeing you live brought back many wonderful memories.
Thank You, and come back soon!!!


I couldn't believe my eyes a few months ago when I read on the website that the band was making a stop in Utah! I scooped up some tix and waited all Summer. It was well worth the wait and it was a perfect evening for an outdoor concert and Toto delivered the goods to a good sized and lively crowd. The set list was awesome - weaving songs from the great new album in with the classics and some favorite deeper cuts.
"Bottom of Your Soul" might have been the highlight - played and sung with such passion. "Make Believe" was a treat with Tony and Bobby harmonizing and the acoustic set was awesome! Luke was amazing, as always, and certainly has a career in standup comedy if, God forbid, he ever puts down the guitar. Simon was an absolute trooper, sick with the flu but not missing a beat. Mike was the man, also playing hurt with some bulging disc issues! Greg - he's a keeper and I look forward to even more contributions from him on future albums. Bobby - the man is just plain soul and his chops were in fine form! And Tony was fantastic, especially on "Stop Loving You".
I had my kids with me and they've always loved listening to Toto and they were thrilled to see the band live. It was great to see another generation inspired by such great musicians. Please make Utah a regular stop when touring stateside!


All I can say is WOW! I've been a Toto fan since 1979 and to finally see Toto in my back yard was a memorable experience. Other Toto concerts I've attended I've had to drive to Las Vegas. The Sandy Amphitheater was packed to see the greatest band in the world and the band gave the extra effort to please the crowd with great performances of songs from Falling in Between and the Toto classics. Steve Lukather's guitar was the usual pinnacle of the art and Greg Philliganes was getting his groove on and shining with a stunning keyboard solo. Tony Spinner rendered a memorable acoustic version of Stop Loving You that brought the house down. And Simon gave the extra effort doing the gig with the flu. Toto has never let me down. Thanks for a wonderful evening and please come back!


Thank you, thank you from the bottom of my heart. I just got home from seeing your show at the Sandy Amphitheater in Utah. What a multi-gasm. What a thrill to see such raw talent. Welcome back to the states, gentleman. Thank you for renewing my faith in the music industry. I can think of no better opportunity to expose my children to what it really means to be a musician - and how real musicians gel as a band. Now they understand why I have all of your CD's. For them, you have graduated from background music that Dad listens to, to multiple requests for iPod uploads. It is with pleasure that I will comply. Utah loves Toto. My family and I love Toto. Simon, I am still trying to figure out Space Boogie. Words cannot express what a pleasure it was to see you perform live. To me, you are unmatched by any other. I hope you recover soon from the flu. All the best! Steve, Oh Steve, Steve Steve. Freakin' amazing. For me, there is no other as well. Fantastic guitar work and a beautiful voice. Toto is it! I could not assemble a better mega super group if I tried.

Thanks again! Please keep it going. And, for God sakes, please keep coming to Utah.

From cloud 9,