TOTO - Official Website - Relates Artists Releases

Joseph Williams is back! This time with the new project "Vertigo". Their self-titled debut album features great 80's AOR music, ranging from dynamic uptempo songs to powerful ballads.

Producer Fabrizio V.Zee Grossi (Ice-T,Cypress Hill, Dope, Wu-thang Clan/Killah Priest, George Clinton & P-Funk, Stereo Mud, Beautiful Creatures, Nina Hagen, Tina Arena, Steve Vai, Steve Lukather etc) played of course bass and cared about programming and keyboards and coordinating the timing and the recording sessions.

Joseph Williams: Lead and back-ground vocal
Francis Benitez: Back-ground vocals
Fabrizio V.Zee Grossi: Bass, rhythm guitar, keyboards, samples, loops and drum programming
Alex de Rosso: Lead guitars
Biggs Brice: Live and Roland Drums
JM Scattolin: Additional guitars

Produced by Fabrizio V.Zee Grossi for Cosa Nostra Music Inc.
Executive Producers: Serafino Perugio and Joey Carbone

Label: Frontiers Records - Website:
Release Date: October 20th 2003
Barcode: 8024391016725
Cat. #: FR CD 167
Joseph Williams
1. Not Enough Hours In The Night
2. Straight To Your Heart
3. More Than Enough
4. Never Let You Go
5. I Don't Want To Go
6. I Want To be Wanted
7. China Sky
8. Love Is Blind
9. When It Doesn't Matter
10. Sarah
11. Vertigo
Press Release:

A record for the fans. A record that comes from the heart. True music for the heart and soul.

Those three sentences well describe the concept behind the brand new VERTIGO project, which features vocalist extraordinaire Joseph Williams: the man who sang for TOTO recording and co-writing such hit albums like "Fahrenheit" (1986) and "The Seventh One" (1987).

VERTIGO marks the long awaited return on the market for Joseph Williams, six years after the release of "3", his last solo album which was released only in Japan. Even if the songs on VERTIGO are all composed by external songwriters, Joseph says: "My roots are in this kind of music and I thought it would be fun to be a part of this project, as the fans have often asked me to sing in this style". But that's not enough, as Joseph adds: "We have listened and considered many songs for this project. But the ones that ended on the record are the ones which I really liked. I will certainly use many of those tracks in my future live shows". Some of the songwriters appearing are Jim Peterik (Survivor, Pride Of Lions), Stuart Smith (Heaven & Heart), Joey Carbone (Alyssa Milano, Kim Carnes, Tiffany etc.), David Tyson (Alannah Myles, Amanda Marshall) and Kane Roberts (Alice Cooper).

Recording environment has been positive. "Fabrizio Grossi is a very fine musician and producer", says Williams and the involvement of Joey Carbone, both in the songwriting and in the executive production department, helped Joseph to perform in the best way, feeling "at home". "Serafino Perugino at Frontiers" concludes Joseph, "made an easy time in pulling this record together. I appreciated a lot his hard work and creative input". But of course nothing would have been possible without the great performances of such musicians as Alex De Rosso (Dokken) on lead guitar, Biggs Brice on drums, JM Scattolin (Mike Inez, Steve Bailey, Cypress Hill, Tribe After Tribe) on guitars and Francis Benitez on background vocals.